The Challenge of Walsingham

Thank you to Fliss (Revd Fliss Shaw) one of this year’s Walsingham pilgrims, who writes this thought provoking reflection

Mosaic of Our Lady
In the Slipper Chapel, Walsingham

Walsingham is for me a very challenging place.

Peaceful, prayerful, joyful, God filled,  all those things but as a woman and a priest it poses a dilemma as women priests are not allowed to exercise their priestly ministry in the Shrine Church.

So my dilemma is, do I wear my clerical collar and cause a distraction to those who are seeking to draw closer to God in worship or do I deny who I am and fade into anonymity.

In the end I did a bit of both! Part of the compromise was the privilege of being chief celebrant at a Eucharist in Binham Priory..

However, all this becomes of no account when one considers the real challenge of Walsingham which is, am I prepared be a disciple like Mary and say Yes to God in all that God wants me to do to make Jesus Christ known in my day to day life?

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

