Farewell to Toby

We said goodbye and thank you to Toby yesterday as he completed his placement as parish assistant with us. Toby has been with us since September 2012 and has given much, made friends, and learned lots from being with us. We wish Toby well for his future and especially he has our support as he goes forward to his Selection Conference in October. We look forward to hearing how that goes.

Here is what Toby said to us at Mass yesterday:

“I’d like to say a few thank yous and share a few thoughts on my time here.

Toby Wetherspoon

At the farewell lunch

First of all a big thank you to everyone here especially for your love, support and prayers. It really helps knowing you have so many people behind you.

I’d also like to particularly thank everyone who has helped at and supported the Justice & Peace group. Setting up and running the group has been the highlight of my year and I’ll certainly never forget trying to convince Noel of the benefits of vegetarianism.

I’ve learnt a lot during my time here especially through working within our community outside of  church,  particularly with the younger people of our parish,  working with students was surprisingly more tiring then 8 year olds!

Another highlight of my year was helping to build the crib with the children during the carol service, the worship style here has really shown me how close a community can be brought together through praise.

Finally I’ve learnt a lot about myself, my strengths and limitations, how to use a thurible without hitting the priest and skills in public speaking. I’ve learnt the most about myself, however,  through my close personal relationships. You know who you are and you’ve helped me so much, I certainly couldn’t have done it without you.”

 So thank you again.  It’s been one of the best experiences of my life and I couldn’t think of a better place to do it then here at St C’s.”

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

