The Peace of Wild Things

Joshua Dunois

Joshua Dubois

“Every morning, one particular email pinged into the inbox of President Barack Obama, it was sent by a young pastor Joshua Dubois. President Obama has many advisors, fighting for his ear throughout the day, but for a few quiet minutes every morning, he got inspiration and guidance from this email, which he has described as having ‘meant the world to him’.”

Fr Ian writes

Earlier this week I listened to an inspiring interview with Joshua Dubois on the BBC World Service ( the quote above is taken from their website, click here). I was encouraged to hear how much value President Obama placed on spiritual thought and prayer.

Simply pausing for a couple of minutes to read an inspiring spiritual thought is something we all can do, each day.

In the interview Joshua Dubois mentions sending President Obama the following gentle and thought provoking poem.

Wild thingsThe Peace of Wild Things by Wendell Berry

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Peace of Wild Things

  1. Darren Hackett says:

    This is great reminds me of the ‘Consider the lilies of the field’ passage from the bible.

  2. Clive maslen says:

    I often visit Cefn onn woodland and sit by a large pond it is wild in growth and wilderness but the longer you sit and gaze the more of the tangle of wild beauty has a very rich diverse presentatation I see the wild desires in my life in a similar way ,I see such beauty there I discover away In my existence W .H Davies wrote what is this life so full of care we have no time to stand and stare.

  3. One of my favourite poems. Wendell Berry is wonderful. Lovely to think of the President of the US reading this in the midst of all that he had to do and be.

Leave a Reply

