Singing of Christ our Redeemer

easterexultet UIn the second of our reflections on the wonderful liturgies of the Great Three days at St C’s Paul reflects on words from the Easter Proclamation, the Exsultet, at the beginning of the Easter Vigil:

 “What good would life have been to us, had Christ not come as our Redeemer?” 

This line from the Exsultet sung so beautifully this year by Kate, touches me deeply, I literally get a lump in my throat and the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end!

Paschal C UWhy so? Well because it says everything about my faith, the simple fact that I believe in a loving and forgiving God who’s love for me is so great that he gave his only son for my sake; furthermore, the nub of the matter is that I cannot prove any of this yet life really does not make sense without this simple belief in Him as my Redeemer.

This Easter is a significant first for Mark, my partner, and I as it is the first without his Mum and I was reminded time and time again throughout the three days of the love and fellowship we have found at St C’s, the prayers and thoughts have been such a consolation and despite our sadness we found celebration in this great feast.

(An earlier reflection in this series is found here).

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Anglo Catholic, Catholic, Christian, Easter, Faith, Spirituality, St Chrysostoms Church and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

