Awake, my soul …. I shall awake at dawn (Psalm 57.8)

Unusual times can bring insight into the spiritual  and prayer. Here is the second blog post about this year’s 24 hours of prayer in Church. Three different people offer reflections.

The Roundel window above the Anson Chapel altar

The Roundel window above the Anson Chapel altar

When dawn was about to break, I was reading (and thinking about) Psalm 130. The verse in front of me was: “My soul waiteth for the Lord more than they that watch for the morning: I say, more than they that watch for the morning.”

Most of the Church lights were out so we could see the dawn arrive through the stained glass windows. I heard the birds’ dawn chorus first. In the Anson Chapel, the roundel (round-form) window, high about the altar, lit up. Not gradually – I felt. Suddenly! The Heavenly Angels, shone white. They greeted us below “that watch for the morning”.

The most poignant time for me was during the rush hour on Thursday morning.  I was sitting in adoration and prayer in the presence of the Sacrament, and I became so conscious of all that was happening around me.  There were the squeals, shouts and laughter of children on the way to school.  The buses carrying their cargo of workers and shoppers to business. The frenzied conversation of students off to work and study in the Universities. The wailing sirens of emergency vehicles responding to incidents.

In the midst of all this was our Lord in the Eucharist, and of course, in the midst of all this is St Chrysostom’s Church – a visible, tangible building housing a group of people who testify to God’s presence and activity in our busy city and lives.

Prime 24Prime; what a peculiar thing to be doing at 5am! On Thursday morning I found myself there in the Anson chapel with 3 others joining in the short service of  Prime for the first time ever. Any resentment I had about getting up at 4.15am just melted away in the stillness of that chapel as I sat looking at our dear Lord Jesus present in the Blessed Sacrament lit only by candle light.

I have long worried about my prayer being “good enough” but I know it will come whenever I am in His presence exposed in the monstrance. When I left Church just after 6am, I felt refreshed and ready for the day ahead in a particular way.

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Anglo Catholic, Catholic, Prayer, Spirituality, St Chrysostoms Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

