Summer Reading 2016

Summer is often the time for us to relax and one way to do it is with a good book. We’ve asked four women connected with churchfor suggestions for Summer reading, and we’ve had a wide choice

Call midwifeAllanah writes: I would like to recommend Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth for the summer reading list. After finding the TV adaptation a bit cheesy, I was hesitant to read the book (which my mother bought me). However, it was one of the best books I’ve ever read! Not only does it give a great insight into midwifery of the 1950’s, but also a rich and intriguing view into the East End at the time, as well as the life of a young midwife living in a convent amongst some fairly eccentric nuns. There is delight, sadness, shock, and love to be found in this treasure of a book.

Ken FollettAngela writes: I have enjoyed reading the Century trilogy by Ken Follett.

The first volume The Fall of Giants is set before , during and after the First World War.  It is typical Follett- a good page turner and not to heavy for summer reading.

Laura (assistant head at St John’s school writes): Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian – I read this most summers as it is my favourite childhood book about an evacuee from London forming a close relationship with an unlikely character – grumpy Mister Tom who is asked to look after him during the war. It is a book about hope and friendship. I love to read how they form a special bond and grow in personality.

Wild Swansand: Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China by Jung Chang – this is a book a I would recommend. It was unputdownable for me. It is about three generations of women, spanning a century. You learn an incredible amount about China’s history through personal histories. I was amazed to learn of stark differences between the culture I was raised in, my parents and grandparents were raised in, in comparison to the women in the book. After I read this, I wanted to learn even more about China so read more novels – but this is where it started.

(Laura also suggested Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick)

Alanna 1stMycah, interestingly, like Laura chooses a book read each year from childhood, and writes: I’m looking for forward to reading Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce.  I’ve read it every year since I was a young girl and it has been a constant encouragement as a growing woman that I can do anything I set myself up to do.

 

And why not check out the 2015 suggestions here, the 2014 suggestions here and the 2010 selection here.

Of course you are welcome to make your suggestions too – simply comment below.

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Reading 2016

  1. Nancy says:

    I read CALL THE MIDWIFE. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

