Giving mystery space

Following a recent conversation with Hector, a member of congregation, Fr Ian invited him to write a blog reflection on why he travels to St Chrysostom’s:

hm_3On a Sunday morning when I was living in Crieff in Scotland I regularly travelled for two hours on public transport to attend High Mass in Old Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church in Edinburgh.  Quite a pilgrimage, but a pilgrimage that paled into insignificance when I learned that an elderly couple in the congregation made the journey from Inveraray every Sunday morning.

My pilgimages to St Cs from Darwen are a mere walk in the park by comparison.

What is it about these churches that draws me, regardless of the miles of travel involved?

Anglo-catholic worship: yes;

liberal theology: another tick;

a dusting of “decent doubt”: undoubtedly;

quirky congregations: I think so . . .

hm-2But I feel that it is more than the sum total of these things.  I think that it’s because both of these churches give the mystery at the heart of our faith room to breath and to take hold of our souls. Some churches, in my opinion, do not allow this to happen because they are too busy trying to waylay possible boredom in the congregation.

I can hear many of my friends saying, “fanciful, as always, Hector.”

What do you think?

 

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Anglo Catholic, Catholic, Christianity, Faith, St John Chrysostom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

