Why we come to St C’s

We recently invited four different people to speak at Mass to tell us why they like coming to St Chrysostom’s. We got some lovely and encouraging responses. Here are three; from Kevin, Tayo and Alice, a junior member of Church.

kevin-uHi, my name is Kevin and I was born and raised in Malaysia. I’ve been in St. Chrysostom’s for about a year now and I have to say that I really enjoyed my time here. I still remember the first time I came to this church, it was when the church was celebrating its 138th birthday. I remembered that we had lots of food after mass that day. Although I might’ve returned the following week because of the food, I stayed on because there was something that felt right about this church and I felt welcomed. The mass was very different from the ones I attended in Malaysia, but I enjoyed it. I find peace and rest in the presence of God, and the mass, for me is a quiet time of reflection and above all, a reminder that I’m God’s beloved child.

I also really enjoyed the time and conversations we have after mass, the smiles on people’s faces and the interesting stories  I would hear over a nice cup of  tea. And not to mention my time serving at the altar, it has been an enjoyable experience! Last but not least, this church had also showed me great support as a community. I remember  Sister Lynfa always prayed for me whenever I had an exam, and she probably knew my exam timetable better than I do! Being far away from home, I can say that St Chrysostom’s has really become my home away from home, and I truly felt the support and care given by the community here in St. Chrysostom’s, which is why I’d love to stay in this church  for the years to come.

Alice said: I like going to St. Chrysostom’s because of the Sunday school classes and I like just going, talking and being with my friends. I like the Sunday school lessons because they are fun and interesting. In Sunday school we do things like puzzles and crosswords after we have read the main reading and answer a few questions. St. Chrysostom’s is fun because they do lots of fun activities.For example treasure hunts and making fun interesting things.

tayo-1Tayo said: This morning I’ve travelled 60 miles to be here! and why have I done that? Why do I like coming here to St Chrysostom’s? I love being part of this church. Where else could I meet together with such a wide range of people from different countries and backgrounds, ages and experiences  and for us all to be together. I enjoy the welcome and friendliness of St Chrysostom’s. The people I work with are usually from similar educational and cultural backgrounds, when I come to church my contacts are enlarged and I make all kinds of different friends. I appreciate the stillness, holiness and beauty of the worship here. Here my spiritual batteries are recharged giving me strength for the coming week.

And to read what Edward said click here. Thank you so much to all four.

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Anglo Catholic, St Chrysostoms Church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

