When I was hungry and alone

He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

Micah 6:8

Hannah reflects on a meeting at Cornerstone

cornerstone-2A few times a month I serve at Cornerstone Day Centre in Denmark Street. Cornerstone provides meals and resources for people who are homeless in the community. Last week, I was serving soup and a man came up to me with a huge grin on his face. I smiled back and asked him if he would like any soup. He shook his head and asked me if I wanted to read some poems he had written. There was no one else in line to receive soup, so I accepted his offer and he handed me a large stack of papers.

I began to read his poems; poems filled with love, pain, frustration, rejection, and hope. While reading his poems, his story began to unfold in my hands. Through rhymes, alliterations, and similes his story came to life. We talked about his inspirations for the poems and the beauty of poetry. Writing poetry is a way for him to express his experiences. Hearing someone’s story isn’t always in the form of asking questions. Sharing stories is expressed in a number of ways and I found there to be so much power in creative forms, such as poetry.

cornerstone

I asked him if I could share one of his poems and he smiled, “Yes, show the world more beauty.”

One of the reasons this poem caught my attention was his focus on the relationship he made at Cornerstone. He could have written about receiving a warm meal or clothes, but it was the kindness another human showed him that impacted him the most.

 

“Sometimes a word is all it takes to raise someone’s spirit.”

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Catholic, Manchester, Various Voices and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

