Two more favourite churches

More favourite churches nominated by church members. 

First of all Hector McMillan writes:

Quite a few years’ ago now my late wife, Sheila, and I did a pilgrimage of sorts to Santiago de Compostela: “of sorts” since it was a guided coach tour. As you can imagine we visited many a church on our journey, one of the highlights being the stained glass of Leon cathedral, but the “church” that I return to over and over again in my imagination is standing with a whole host of pilgrims watching the candle light procession in Lourdes. I was feeling very low that day, depression having been a bedfellow of mine since my teenage years. At one point the Our Father was prayed over and over again in many different languages. When the English version started a Dutch woman, a stranger to me, gripped my arm and said, “This one’s for you”. I was very moved by this simple act of kindness which I’m sure was instrumental in helping me turn towards the light again.

And Pippa Allen nominates a church close to home (normally we exclude this one, but why not make an exception!)

My favourite church is very close to home……. It was the first church I went to with my boyfriend’s family and the first one I had worshipped in since a child. As I entered the church I felt a strong sense of welcome and friendliness that still exists today. Over the last 15 years, my church family has provided support, friendship and love  watching me get married, the baptism of my beautiful daughter and also providing solace and peace when my mother-in-law died.

The previous two ‘special churches’ chosen can be seen here.

Do let us know if you’d like to nominate a church which is special to you, and if you do we’d love you to give a reason.

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, St Chrysostoms Church and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

