Entomology and my Faith

Entomology (noun): The Scientific Study of Insects – and faith.

Since I was a little girl I have always loved being outside among growing things, helping in my grandparents’ garden or playing wildly imaginative games with my cousins in the woods. It only made sense for me to go into Environmental Biology in University when I have loved nature so well all my life.

When I entered university, I joined a research lab immediately that looked at the freshwater macroinvertebrates (a fancy word for insects) that lived in a local stream on a farm where we were monitoring the health of the water through its little inhabitants. I really did not enjoy the constant contact with the tiny creatures at first, but being in a lab for all four years of my time at university was going to look well on any future resume so I kept at it. My favorite parts were the other students I was getting to know, and being outside among the wide grass fields, and the cool sound of the water flowing around me.

My intolerant attitude of insects soon grew into a fascination with bugs as the years passed, and working in a larger lab with other enthusiastic Biologists who loved nature and the world as much as I did intertwined quickly with my faith and a call to love the earth and all its creatures. Even the little ones that most people do not enjoy having around. Learning more about Insects turned my prejudice against them into wonder, interest, and now a deeply faithfully rooted care for the environment we all live in.

There is a larger lesson that can be seen in my life and faith how these insects gave me a model for looking at my own prejudices with a sense of faithful wonder, education, and a commitment to change the way I felt towards something. Living the Gospels faithfully in my life means challenging injustices, including the littlest ones in my local streams and larger ones buzzing around my local neighborhood and country.

Mycah

In 2015-2016 Mycah McNett was our first Volunteer from Time for God to serve as Parish Assistant and came to us from the United States through Young Adults in Global Mission through the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. She now lives in Virginia, USA where she works at Muhlenberg Lutheran Church.

This is the third in our series of how our studies influence our faith. Previous posts have looked at Metallurgy and my faith, and Mathematics and my faith

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

