Pademelon, Frogmouth and Platypus: Praise be!

A Tawny Frogmouth

Pademelon, Frogmouth, Platypusnot words from Hogwarts but words on a postcard the e-postman has recently delivered to us at St Chrysostom’s

My sister first caught sight of the peculiar  bird sitting pretending to be a piece of bark on a palm tree in front of her house . Eventually we identified it as a tawny frogmouth; we’ve named him Frances and we see him as our guardian angel.

Australia is full of such wondrous creatures, of which I am learning more  on this visit .

During my trip to Tasmania , the island state of Australia , I watched a pademelon, a small kangaroo like creature hop across my friends’ lawn and I visited a centre breeding that oddest of all animals – the platypus, a mammal which suckles its young , is covered with fur but has a duck like bill and lays eggs . 

All of which makes me feel grateful for this diverse extraordinary world . And right now I’m feeling extra grateful because it is raining and this dry land needs the rain.

And since I now come from Manchester and have many Muslim friends I find myself using Arabic and saying  Alhamdulillah Praise Be!

Sandra, in Australia

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

