Hannah’s First Impressions

h-1Hannah writes about her first impressions as a Parish Assistant at St Chrysostom’s

I have now been in Manchester for about two months! I have been wrapped in an abundance of hospitality and open arms since arriving to St.Chrysostom’s. I am from Duluth, Minnesota, located in the United States. I graduated from university in 2015, where I studied Religion with a Faith and Leadership Concentration and Communications. I worked for a year as a Youth Director in a Lutheran Church in Fargo, North Dakota. I am serving for one year in England through the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America- Young Adults in Global Mission program and Time For God organization in the United Kingdom. I believe that service is a part of each of our vocations, God calls us to walk alongside our neighbours. Service to our neighbours is experienced in a variety of ways, but overall service is being in relationship with our brothers and sisters and sharing our stories together.

h-2It can be a bit overwhelming leaving the comfort of home and coming to a place you have never been. The first few weeks at St.Chrysostom’s was filled with information on the job duties of the Parish Assistants and forming relationships with my co-workers and members of the congregation. My first mass experience at St.Chrysostom’s was well, an experience! I soon realized that the theology and liturgy are very similar to the church I belong to at home, the biggest difference is the style of worship and outward expression of faith. The style of worship is similar in ways to Catholic worship in America.

Hopping into roles in the serving team has been one of my favourite parts of working at St.Chrysostom’s. It has allowed me to learn more about the traditions of the church, as well as, the smells and bells of worship. More importantly, it has introduced me to members of the congregation and it has helped me become more confident and comfortable at St.Chrysostom’s. I look forward to the many ways in which St.Chrysostom’s will shape me and the congregation during the year.

St.Chrysostom’s is a diverse congregation. Not only diverse in culture, but also in age, gender, race, and profession. The diversity expresses the hospitality and welcoming space that St.Chrysostom provides for the community. I was amazed by how many people were from different countries and backgrounds during the Healing of Nations Vespers I helped lead in October. Let’s continue to find ways to celebrate our diversity!

About stchrysostoms

St Chrysostom’s is an Anglican (Church of England) parish church in Manchester. We’re an inclusive, diverse and welcoming faith community where people of differing backgrounds make friends. Find our Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/2364267899/
This entry was posted in Anglican, Anglo Catholic, St Chrysostoms Church and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

